Damn it, Maya. Just… Damn it.

Maya Hates Me: mental ray Doesn’t Load

The Problem:

We’ve all been there.  It’s annoying as all hell, but about a third of the time, Maya just won’t load the mental ray plugin, no matter what checkboxes you click in the plugin manager.  And since the standard Maya renderer is about as effective as a fart in the wind, mental ray really ought to be the default renderer anyways.

The Solution:

So far as I can tell, there really isn’t one. Sometimes Maya just decides it doesn’t like to load your plugins.

The Workaround:

The good news is that plugins are still handled within the framework of MEL, which means that it’s very easy to put together a simple script to load mental ray when you need it.  Just type the following code (and watch the capitalization) into the Command Line in maya:

loadPlugin Mayatomr;

Highlight the text, and middle mouse drag it to an empty spot on a shelf.  Hey-presto, you’ve got a one-click solution for loading mental ray whenever you need to.  No more hunting down the plugin manager and checking stupid boxes that Maya ignores anyways.

-Ed

4 responses

  1. InfernalDarkness

    http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=7&t=975909

    Go to the fourth post. CGBeige demonstates how to force Maya to auto-load mental ray at startup, or any other plugin you need! Hope this helps.

    -Infernal

    May 8, 2011 at 12:33 am

    • Good ol Beige! Can always count on the forum denizens to come to the rescue!

      May 8, 2011 at 12:37 am

  2. Linus

    I hope you can give me some advice, because I have run into a complete wall. I am having trouble with mental ray. I am using the Maya 2013 student version for mac, and trying to use mental ray, but when I look in the render tab in the render settings window, mental ray is not a choice. Okay, no problem, just go to the plug-in manager and click load, right? Except that mental ray, (or mayatomr) isn’t listed among my plug-ins. Just to be sure, I load every plugin I have, in case it is under a different name, but still mental ray doesn’t appear in the render settings window. If I look in the application folder, there is a mental ray folder filled with files, however it is not in the plugin folder, but just in the general maya2013 folder. I’ve tried copying it into the plugin folder, (I don’t know if that is even likely to work, but I’m out of ideas), however no luck.

    I really need an answer to this. I’m trying hard to learn Maya, but I’m constantly finding myself spending days on end trying to figure out some technical quirk that has nothing to do with learning the actual program. It is incredibly frustrating.

    November 13, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    • Linus

      If it helps, here is the error message I get when I try and load it into Maya:

      // mental ray for Maya 2013
      // Error: line 1: Cannot find procedure “mentalrayForMaya”. //
      // Error: (Mayatomr) : setup command execution failed //
      // Error: file: /Applications/Maya.app/Contents/scripts/others/pluginWin.mel line 665: initializePlugin function failed (Mayatomr) //

      November 14, 2012 at 4:45 am

Leave a Reply

